Yeshua is Yehovah

Transmitted - Written - Translated

It has been a long and complex route to get to where we are today with our Bible. From Genesis 1:1 through to Revelations 22:21 there has been a multitude of communications media -

  • spoken word
  • written word
  • translated word
  • translated again
Globally the Biblical manuscripts are being digitalised and for the first time the content can now be cross-referenced to bring clarity.

There is now the opportunity to view these Biblical ancient texts from the leisure of your armchair - truely unbelievable!

Yeshua is Yehovah

The Major Sections of The Bible

These are the sections of the Old Testament -

  • The Law (The Torah)
  • History
  • Songs, Poetry & Wisdom
  • The Major Prophets
  • The Minor Prophets
These books were mainly written in Hebrew with the exception of a few sections being written in Aramaic.

The Hebrew bible is called The Tanakh and has three sections:

  • Torah (Law) - 5 books
  • Nevi'im (Prophets) - 8 books
  • Ketuvim (Writings) - 11 books
The first 5 books of the Bible, known as The Torah in Hebrew and The Pentateuch in Greek, were mainly written by Moses in Hebrew. The Torah was given to Moses in two parts - the written Torah and the interpretation is called oral Torah.

The Talmud is the oral Torah.

These are the sections of the New Testament -

  • The Gospels
  • Acts of the Apostles
  • Paul's Letters (epistles)
  • Other Letters (epistles)
  • Revelation

Yeshua is Yehovah

Bible Codices

A brief history, there are five early 'Bibles' which are called 'Codex'. These are :

  • Leningrad Codex (currently in the National Library St. Petersburg)
  • Aleppo Codex (Israel Museum, Jerusalem)
  • Codex Ephraemi Rescriptus (National Library of France, Paris)
  • Codex Alexandrinus (British Museum, London)
  • Codex Sinaiticus (British Library, London)

These Codices are ancient Hebrew, Aramaic and Greek manuscripts which are at the heart of the translation of the Bible. If you are ever in doubt about a translation head back to the original documents!

  • The Leningrad Codex is the oldest intact, complete, edition of the Hebrew Bible.
  • The Aleppo Codex is the earliest known Hebrew manuscript comprising the full text of the Bible.
  • The Codex Ephraemi Rescriptus is a fifth-century Greek manuscript of the Bible.
  • The Codex Alexandrinus is a fifth-century Greek manuscript of the Bible, containing the majority of the Greek Old Testament and the Greek New Testament.
  • The Codex Sinaiticus or "Sinai Bible" is a handwritten copy of a Christian Bible in Greek.

Yeshua is Yehovah

Tanakh, Septuagint and Vulgate

The Tanakh is the name for the Hebrew Bible. It is a Hebrew acronym taken from the first two letters of the Hebrew titles - Torah, Nevi'im, Ketuvim.

The Greek version of the Old Testament (Koine Greek) is known as the Septuagint or LXX which is 70 - the number of Jewish scholars that translated the Hebrew Torah into Greek. The original King James Version of the Bible is based upon the Septuagint.

The Vulgate is the Latin version of the Bible used by the Roman Catholic church.